News and Events

Past Webinars

Patent Reexaminations in Parallel with Litigation

Recorded Webinar from February 22, 2012

Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP welcomes you to a complimentary webinar, “Patent Reexaminations in Parallel with Litigation,” presented by Joseph E. Shipley. The webinar will take place on Wednesday, February 22, 2012, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12:00 noon EST.

Reexamination proceedings in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) are increasingly used as an alternative or adjunct to litigating validity in the federal courts. As reexamination procedures grow in popularity, it is becoming more and more important for patent attorneys to understand the factors that should be considered in deciding whether to seek reexamination. Our February webinar will cover these factors in depth, addressing the following topics and more:

• Objectives: What can be achieved in reexamination and what cannot
• Current statistics on outcomes
• Associated risks
• Associated costs
• Time frames
• Reexamination options
• Alternatives to reexamination

We will also briefly discuss two new USPTO procedures that will become available on September 16, 2012--Post-Grant Review and Inter Partes Review--and will compare and contrast these with the current procedures. The webinar will conclude with an interactive question and answer session.

Our speaker will be Fitch Even partner Joseph E. Shipley. For over 25 years, Joe has assisted clients with global patent portfolio management, freedom-to-operate issues, complex litigation, and transactions. He has extensive experience in both U.S. and international work involving patent prosecution and post-issuance challenges in reexaminations and other proceedings. Joe’s practice focuses on first understanding clients’ business issues, then developing and executing creative IP strategies to address the clients’ needs in a highly efficient manner.

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design