Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from January 25, 2017
Alice in Chains? Lessons Learned from Recent Federal Circuit Opinions on Patentable Subject Matter

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a complimentary webinar, Alice in Chains? Lessons Learned from Recent Federal Circuit Opinions on Patentable Subject Matter,” on Wednesday, January 25, 2017, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12:00 noon EST.

The Federal Circuit has overruled several district court opinions finding patents invalid for lack of patentable subject matter, most recently in Enfish v. Microsoft, BASCOM v. AT&T Mobility, and McRO v. Bandai Namco Games America. This webinar will review these and other Federal Circuit opinions that have begun to define the boundaries of “abstract ideas” under the Supreme Court’s Alice test.

In addition to discussing applicable Federal CIrcuit cases, our presenters will also cover these topics:

  • The test for patentable subject matter under Alice v. CLS Bank
  • Considerations when responding to a motion for dismissal based on Alice
  • How claim construction can alter the analysis of patentable subject matter

Our speakers will be Fitch Even partners Eric L. Broxterman and David A. Gosse. Eric is a litigator with extensive trial experience in primarily patent infringement cases. He also counsels clients on patent prosecution, infringement/invalidity opinions, and IP transactional issues. Dave has a diverse IP law practice encompassing both the acquisition and the enforcement of patent rights, with a particular emphasis on complex patent litigation.

A recording of this webinar is available through January 24, 2018.

View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design