Webinars

Upcoming Webinars

  • Fitch Even Webinar: October 25, 2017
Presenting Alice-Friendly Patent Claims: Is McRo Worth a Second Look?

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a complimentary webinar, “Presenting Alice-Friendly Patent Claims: Is McRo Worth a Second Look?,” on Wednesday, October 25, 2017, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12 noon EDT.

While the Federal Circuit has identified small precedential islands of relative safety, the court has yet to chart a veritable Northwest Passage through which one can safely navigate the risks and concerns presented by the Supreme Court’s Alice decision.

Or have they?

McRo, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America, Inc., et al. is sometimes considered for its rather tepid and, to date, somewhat inconsequential consideration of preemption issues. McRo’s analysis and holding regarding abstractness, however, is perhaps more valuable to those writing and prosecuting patent applications than has been generally acknowledged to date.

During this webinar, Fitch Even partner Steven G. Parmelee will explore these questions:

  • Whether McRo presents a new two-step abstractness analysis that offers useful and practical opportunities
  • If so, whether such an opportunity is “more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the [abstract idea] itself”

He will also share these insights, among others:

  • Anecdotal McRo prosecution experience at the USPTO
  • Claim and specification drafting tips

Steve Parmelee has extensive experience in complex patent preparation and prosecution in the U.S. and abroad. He has assisted clients with patent portfolio management, freedom-to-operate issues, and transactions for over 40 years.

CLE credit has been approved for California and Illinois and is pending in Nebraska. Other states may also award CLE credit upon attendee request. There is no fee to attend, but please note registration is required. To reserve your place, please REGISTER HERE.

 

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design