Webinars

Upcoming Webinars

  • Fitch Even Webinar: May 20, 2021
Design Patents in the U.S. and Japan: Leveraging the Differences in Laws to Maximize Protection

Please join Fitch Even for a free webinar, “Design Patents in the U.S. and Japan: Leveraging the Differences in Laws to Maximize Protection,” on May 20 at 9:00 a.m. PDT / 10:00 a.m. MDT / 11:00 a.m. CDT / 12 noon EDT.

Design patent laws can differ significantly from one country to another. A lack of understanding of these differences can result in not obtaining the broadest patent protection possible. This webinar will provide an overview of the basics of the design patent laws in the U.S. and Japan and then examine how applicants can take advantage of unique opportunities each country’s laws have to offer.

In particular, our presenters will address the following topics:

  • Patentability requirements for designs in the U.S. and in Japan
  • Best practices for preparing a priority application in one country that is suitable for filing in the other
  • Unique filing or prosecution strategies permitted in each country
  • Enforcement considerations
  • Highlights of Japan’s New Design Act of 2020 and the implications and opportunities for applicants filing secondary applications in Japan

Our speakers will be Fitch Even partner Calista J. Mitchell and Konishi & Nakamura partner Tomohiro Nakamura.

Calista focuses her practice primarily on complex patent prosecution, both domestic and global, and freedom-to-operate, patent validity, and patentability opinions. She works closely with U.S. and foreign clients to develop global design filing strategies and has filed hundreds of design applications on their behalf. Calista advises clients in a variety of technical fields, including pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and food science, among others.

Tomohiro has represented Japanese and international clients in trademark and industrial design protection for over 20 years. Prior to that he worked in the Intellectual Property Division at Toyota Motor Corp., where he prosecuted and enforced trademark and design rights to protect global brands including TOYOTA and LEXUS for 12 years. Tomohiro is a chapter author of the AIPPI book Design Rights: Functionality and Scope of Protection, contributing the chapter on design protection in Japan.

CLE credit has been approved for California and Illinois and is pending for Nebraska. Other states may also award CLE credit upon attendee request. There is no fee to attend, but please note registration is required.

To reserve your place, please REGISTER HERE.
 

View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design