Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from May 25, 2016
The Defend Trade Secrets Act: A Federal Remedy at Last

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a complimentary webinar, “The Defend Trade Secrets Act: A Federal Remedy at Last,” on Wednesday, May 25, 2016, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12:00 noon EDT.

On May 11, President Obama signed the Defend Trade Secrets Act—a federal civil remedy for trade secret misappropriation—into law. This will mean a shake-up for U.S. trade secrets law, which for years has been protected by a patchwork of state laws under various enactments of the Uniform Trade Secrets Act. Federal courts have had to enforce these laws through their diversity jurisdiction, when available. A single federal statute will move us toward applying the law uniformly nationwide, and trade secret claims could be filed in federal court. The new law, however, will not completely replace state trade secrets law, but will coexist with it. Protections for trade secrets will be more on balance with those available to patents, copyrights, and trademarks.

Our webinar will address these major provisions of the Defend Trade Secrets Act:

  • Ex parte seizure of property to prevent dissemination of trade secrets
  • Preemption of state law prohibiting restraints on employment
  • Whistleblower protections for reporting trade secret misappropriation
  • Enhanced damages
Our speaker will be Fitch Even partner Thomas F. Lebens. Since 1991 Tom has served clients in preparing and prosecuting patent and trademark applications, including appeals, post-grant review, and interferences. He also counsels clients in intellectual property and business strategy; licensing issues; infringement and validity analysis; patentability, infringement, and validity opinions; and copyright matters.

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design