Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from October 4, 2011
The Leahy-Smith America Invents Act: A First Look

Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery welcomes you to a complimentary webinar, "The Leahy-Smith America Invents Act: A First Look," presented by Nicholas T. Peters. The webinar will take place on Tuesday, October 4, 2011, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12:00 noon EDT.  

During this program, attendees will learn about the immediate effects that the newly signed America Invents Act has on current U.S. patent laws—important changes that IP practitioners and their clients need to know about now. The webinar will focus primarily on the portions of the Act that are already in effect or will be in effect in the near term. 

The issues discussed will include these and more:

  • Restrictions in the joinder of multiple defendants in patent litigation
  • Enactment of the prior commercial use defense to a patent infringement claim
  • Restrictions in the ability to make false marking claims
  • Providing the ability to virtually mark
  • Establishment of a “micro entity” for fee payment purposes at the U.S. Patent and Trademark  Office (USPTO)
  • Change in the standard to initiate an inter partes reexamination
  • Establishment of the prioritized examination procedure at the USPTO

We will also briefly preview changes that will take effect in 2012 and 2013, including new patent-challenging procedures at the USPTO after patent issuance and making the transition from a "first to invent" system to a "first inventor to file" system.

Our speaker is Fitch Even partner Nicholas T. Peters. Mr. Peters has a wide-ranging intellectual property litigation practice, with a specialty in USPTO matters. He uses his litigation and USPTO experience combined with his technical background in physics and engineering to assist his clients in securing and protecting their IP assets.  
 

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design