Webinars

Upcoming Webinars

  • Fitch Even Webinar: November 21, 2019
Alphabet Soup: A Review and Summary of Post-Grant Practice at the USPTO

Please join Fitch Even for a free webinar, “Alphabet Soup: A Review and Summary of Post-Grant Practice at the USPTO,” on November 21, 2019, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12 noon EST.

After a U.S. patent issues, many procedures are available to correct the patent, challenge its validity, and even change its scope. These include a bewildering array of procedures sprinkled with Latin phrases and confusing acronyms. The America Invents Act, passed in 2011, changed the face of post-grant practice at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. As the procedures presented in that bill have matured, keeping up with ever-evolving policies and practices has been a challenge even for highly engaged practitioners. This webinar will provide a summary of post-grant procedures and an introduction to when, why, and how each procedure is useful (or not) to patent owners and third parties.

During the webinar, we will cover these topics and more:

  • Review of post-grant procedures at the USPTO including inter partes review (IPR), post-grant review (PGR), covered business method review (CBM), supplemental examination, ex parte reexamination, and reissue applications
  • Strategic purposes of the various post-grant procedures
  • Tactics for petitioners and patent owners in USPTO trial proceedings

Our speaker will be Fitch Even partner David A. Gosse. Dave has a diverse IP law practice encompassing both the acquisition and the enforcement of patent rights in the electronic, software, and mechanical fields, beginning with patent drafting and prosecution and extending to post-issuance proceedings before the PTAB as appropriate. He has substantial pre-trial and trial experience in district court litigation, including multiple jury trials relating to patent infringement, validity, and breach of license.

CLE credit has been approved for California, Illinois, and Nebraska. Other states may also award CLE credit upon attendee request. There is no fee to attend, but registration is required.

To reserve your place, please REGISTER HERE.

View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design