Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from January 19, 2012
The USPTO’s Recent Changes to Appeal Practice: What, When, How, and Why

Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP welcomes you to a complimentary webinar, “The USPTO’s Recent Changes to Appeal Practice: What, When, How, and Why,” presented by Kenneth W. Hairston. The webinar will take place on Thursday, January 19, 2012, at 9:00 am PDT/ 10:00 am MDT/ 11:00 am CDT/ 12:00 noon EDT.

During this program, attendees will learn about the immediate effects the new USPTO rules will have on practice before the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences (the “Board”). For one example, these new rules will apply to all appeals in which a notice of appeal is filed on or after January 23, 2012.

Topics to be reviewed and discussed during this presentation will include these:

  • Reasoning behind some of the mandatory briefing requirements of the old Board rules
  • Reasoning behind the changes made to the new Board rules
  • Significant amendments to the new Board rules
  • Significant deletions made to the old Board rules
  • How the new Board rules will impact future appeals before the Board
  • Observations about the new rules, and recommendations concerning use of the new rules


The webinar will conclude with an interactive question and answer session.

Our speaker is Fitch Even counsel Kenneth W. Hairston. Mr. Hairston has provided intellectual property law counsel for over 37 years, including 23 years serving as an Administrative Patent Judge at the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences at the USPTO. Drawing upon the insight and extensive experience gained from his judicial work, Mr. Hairston currently counsels clients in complex patent prosecution matters and patent office appeals, as well as administrative post-patent grant challenges, including ex parte reexaminations.
 

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design