Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from October 18, 2022
The European Patent System Is A-Changin': The Unitary Patent and Unified Patent Court

Please join Fitch Even and Greaves Brewster for a free webinar, “The European Patent System Is A-Changin’: The Unitary Patent and Unified Patent Court,” on October 18 at 9:00 a.m. PDT / 10:00 a.m. MDT / 11:00 a.m. CDT / 12 noon EDT / 5:00 p.m. BST.

A major change to the European patent system is imminent. A new Unitary Patent and Unified Patent Court are expected to come into effect in early 2023. Action is required to avoid the prospect of a powerful central validity challenge against your existing European patents in an unpredictable and untested system. Find out about the new system and how to navigate its risks and opportunities in this short and practical webinar.

During this webinar, our presenters will address these topics and more:

  • Introduction and review of the current European patent system
  • Implementation, timing, and geographical coverage of the new system
  • Overview of the Unitary Patent
  • The Unified Patent Court
  • Strategies for navigating the new system

Our discussion will be presented by Greaves Brewster director Jade Powell, partner Jakob Bumke, director Paul Casbon, and director Lee Chapman. Fitch Even partner Paul B. Henkelmann will moderate the discussion.

Jade Powell is a UK Patent Attorney and European Patent Attorney. Jade has experience in the drafting and prosecution of patent applications in a range of chemical fields. Jade also has experience in helping clients manage their patent portfolios worldwide. She has successfully defended and attacked key patents and is an expert on case law and procedure.

Jakob Bumke has experience managing and consolidating very large patent portfolios. In addition to drafting, prosecution, and strategic management of intellectual property portfolios, a particular specialism of Jakob’s practice lies in European Patent Office opposition and appeal proceedings.

Paul Casbon is a UK Patent Attorney and European Patent Attorney. He has strong relationships with overseas IP attorneys and takes a pro-active approach to help adapt clients’ IP strategies to suit Europe and the UK.

Lee Chapman is a UK Patent Attorney and European Patent Attorney and a Higher Courts Patent Attorney Litigator. He leverages his in-house experience to provide clients with tailored and pragmatic IP solutions, including insightful advice on how best to develop a complete IP portfolio.

Paul Henkelmann focuses his practice on patent post-issuance proceedings, U.S. and international patent procurement, and intellectual property litigation and counseling. Paul has substantial experience in both asserting and defending against patent and trademark infringement claims in the federal courts, while remaining active in procuring and managing international IP portfolios.

A recording of this webinar is available through October 17, 2023.

View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design