Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from January 29, 2015
Utility Model Patents: Use and Enforcement in Global Patent Practice

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a complimentary webinar, “Utility Model Patents: Use and Enforcement in Global Patent Practice,” presented by Jonathan C. Hughley. The webinar will take place on Thursday, January 29, 2015, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12:00 noon EST.

In a number of countries outside the U.S., alternative types of patent protection are available to inventors. While many attorneys and inventors are aware of the standard patent, the utility model patent (also known by alternative names in various countries) is less recognized and less frequently used. However, the use of these patents is rapidly expanding in some countries and can be an effective tool in an intellectual property portfolio. Understanding how these patents are obtained and enforced can be essential to companies and inventors with a global presence. 

During this webinar, we will cover these topics and more:

  • General concepts common to utility model patent applications
  • Current trends in filings of utility model patent applications worldwide and country by country
  • Basic guidelines and distinguishing features of utility model patent applications in China and other countries 
  • Prosecution and enforcement of these applications in select countries 
  • Useful practice tips

Our speaker will be Fitch Even attorney Jonathan C. Hughley. Jonathan currently focuses his IP law practice on patent preparation and prosecution, assisting clients that are global leaders in a variety of industries. In addition, he has participated on litigation teams working to protect, enforce, and defend clients’ intellectual property rights. Jonathan also counsels clients on IP-related aspects of advertising, marketing, and promotions.
 

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design