Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from April 28, 2016
Prosecuting the Unexpected Ratio: Advanced Lessons in Patent Prosecution and Claim Drafting

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a complimentary webinar, “Prosecuting the Unexpected Ratio: Advanced Lessons in Patent Prosecution and Claim Drafting,” presented by Jeffrey A. Chelstrom. The webinar will take place on Thursday, April 28, 2016, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12:00 noon EDT.

Patent practitioners who focus on compositions, materials, and other non-mechanical inventions are frequently presented with unique challenges when distinguishing prior art. Often a composition of multiple components may have similar or even overlapping ranges of those components with the prior art. How does the patent prosecutor protect such inventions?

Our webinar will address the following topics:

  • Alternative ways to draft claims covering compositions, materials, and other non-mechanical inventions
  • How to draft patent applications for these inventions to distinguish close prior art
  • How to use unexpected results and evidence of criticality to overcome rejections

This presentation will be the second in an occasional series of “master classes” for experienced IP practitioners, patent owners, and others entrenched in the world of IP who already possess at least a basic understanding of patents and patent claims. It will be of interest to those who analyze and litigate patents as well as those who draft patent applications.

Our speaker will be Fitch Even partner Jeffrey A. Chelstrom. Jeff has extensive experience in chemical patent preparation and prosecution in the U.S. and abroad dealing with food chemistry, adhesives, polymers, lubricants, fuels, and petroleum inventions. He also regularly assists clients with patent portfolio management and freedom-to-operate issues.
 

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design