Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Fitch Even Webinar: June 13, 2019
Understanding Women's Conflict in the Legal Workplace and the Bias That Built It

Please join Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP for a free webinar presented with Chicago Women in IP (ChiWIP), “Understanding Women's Conflict in the Legal Workplace and the Bias That Built It,” on Thursday, June 13, at 10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT / 12 noon CDT / 1:00 pm EDT.

A common misconception is that women inherently have challenging relationships with other women at work. But the research of our guest speakers, Andrea Kramer and Alton Harris, has shown this is patently untrue. They will provide real-world advice and tactics for how both women and men in the legal profession can avoid workplace conflict and overcome deeply rooted biases in a traditionally male-dominated industry.

During this webinar, our presenters will share insights on the following:

  • Gender bias in the workplace, including women’s same-gender conflicts
  • How gendered workplaces disadvantage women
  • How to build supportive work environments to help women succeed and advance

Attorneys Andrea S. Kramer and Alton B. Harris are coauthors of It's Not You, It's the Workplace: Women's Conflict at Work and the Bias That Built It. Andie is a partner at McDermott Will & Emery and an adjunct professor at Northwestern University School of Law. Andie is a member of the Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism’s Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Board and cofounder and chair of the Women's Leadership and Mentoring Alliance.

Alton Harris was a founding partner of Ungaretti & Harris and is a retired partner from Nixon Peabody. Al is a frequent speaker and author on gender bias in the workplace. He has mentored and advised women in many career fields, focusing on the communication skills they need to advance despite the prevalence of negative gender stereotypes.

Our moderator will be Fitch Even partner Nikki L. Little. Nikki is an IP litigator who represents clients in cases across a broad spectrum of technologies. She has participated in numerous jury and bench trials on behalf of clients ranging from individual inventors to multinational corporations. Nikki also represents clients in post-issuance proceedings in the USPTO in parallel with ongoing district court proceedings. She is cofounder and chair-elect of ChiWIP.

A recording of this webinar is available through June 12, 2020.
 

View Webinar | Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design