Webinars

Past Webinars

  • Recorded Webinar from November 17, 2011
The Leahy-Smith America Invents Act: A Further Look into "First-to-File"

Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery welcomes you to a complimentary webinar, "The Leahy-Smith America Invents Act: A Further Look into First-to-File," presented by Jeffrey A. Chelstrom. The webinar will take place on Thursday, November 17, 2011, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12:00 noon EST.  

During this program, we will explore the future conversion of the U.S. patent system from a first-to-invent to a first-to-file system. In this major revision of the U.S. patent laws, Congress has replaced rather than revised Section 102, leaving only a few similarities to the old Section 102. Although this particular change does not take effect until March 16, 2013, it will have a dramatic effect on developing a patent strategy that inventors, companies, IP practitioners, and their clients all need to understand in order to effectively manage and develop a patent portfolio under the new laws.

This webinar will review and discuss the following topics and more:

  • The “effective filing date” of a patent application
  • Changes to Section 102 on Novelty and to Section 103 on Obviousness
  • New definitions of prior art
  • The narrowed grace period
  • Other exceptions to the first-to-file rules
  • Exemplary scenarios applying the new Section 102

The program will conclude with an interactive Q&A session.

Our speaker is Fitch Even partner Jeffrey A. Chelstrom. Jeff has extensive experience in writing and prosecuting patent applications for various technologies including chemical, materials, and mechanical arts. He leverages several years of experience as a chemical engineer along with his legal expertise to help keep his clients and their IP assets protected and secure.
 

Back to top

Hosted on the FirmWisesm Platform | Designed by Charette Design